I think my estimates are off, but that’s okay

I have some freelance work I’m really excited about. It’s largely monkey work–manuscript re-formatting, with some light editing, and bibliography creation based on endnotes–but it’s interesting for me to see this stage of the process, a manuscript about to go off to an academic publisher. It’s not quite in my area of interest, but it’s adjacent to it, and the author is a neat person.

It’s become clear that I’ve underestimated the amount of time necessary for at least some of the tasks. This shouldn’t impact the delivery date. But it is a useful data point for any potential future jobs.

I spent a nice few hours at the library and finished up a chunk of the bibliography. It was a pleasant setting–it was a gorgeous day and the library gets lots of natural light–and I think I’ll repeat the exercise tomorrow.