Delightful things

As indicated on the staff page, I’ve been working on the Britton Chance Papers the past few months. I’ve done a lot of description and preservation and digitization in the past, but this is the first time I’ve had a license to weed.

I am coming across delightful things, but do not want to say anything about them because the collection is not yet available. Just felt the need to declare that ethics are a Thing, one which I spend time Considering. There is, of course, a big difference between me writing a blog post about how so-and-so wrote x-and-such, and me writing a paper for publication citing sources which are not available to other researchers. I still opted to be conservative. (Especially since many of the individuals represented in the collection are very much alive.) I have also considered writing posts for later release, but do not find the prospect sufficiently entertaining.

