Managing History introduction

Public history appeals to me philosophically and practically. I like the idea of improving society through education, encouraging conversations about the past and contextualizing contemporary issues. My political convictions mesh well with public historians of my personal acquaintance as well as those I’ve read. That in and of itself is not sufficient reason to enter a field, but I think it’s one indicator of likely future happiness. My most recent full time work experience was in IT and Marketing, which I don’t have strong interest in entering again but have given me a toolbox that should be useful in other fields. My recent internship and part time work at the American Philosophical Society confirmed the appeal of archival work. I’m looking forward to completing my archives concentration and exploring other aspects of public history.

